get grateful on sunday: 9

17 Oct

“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.”
— Albert Einstein

I am aware that this blog is turning into barely more than a bunch of “get grateful” posts, and to be honest that’s the part I enjoy writing the most. I have been mulling over this for a while, and last week started work on a new blog, one which will focus on well-being. Well-being has always been a primary interest for me, from my late teens studying psychology at university up to my recent studies in Classical Yoga. There is so much to say, and so much to investigate. I’m excited. But because of this, reading and reviewing has been on the back burner as there are just not enough non-work hours in the week to do everything I’d like.

Things I’m grateful for today:

  • The diversity in nature astounds me. I love it. Returning from a hot trip to Vegas, temperatures around 30 degrees Celsius, mountains in the distance, I have landed in this flat, chilly world where the trees have lost their leaves and the squirrels are busy stocking up for the winter. My morning walk was a cool minus 1 degree Celsius. But the sky was blue, the sun was out, the atmosphere was quiet, and it struck me how much I love these different places.
  • I am always grateful when I feel inspired. Beginning a new blog about a subject I’m passionate about has had me thinking of little else recently, such is the motivation to get the project going. This time I have my own domain name and everything, and it’s taking more effort to get going than a wordpress blog but I think it will be worth it.
  • Every time I log on to look at Prairie Journals, I’m grateful for my consistent readers. Who’d have thought I could get so attached to people I’ve not met, and yet feel that I know so well?
  • I’ve recommitted to vegetarianism recently, after a long stint of eating fish as well (and too frequent lapses with burgers at A&W). I feel healthy, motivated and proud that I am not contributing to practices that harm animals.

It is a short post today, as I’m itching to try out a new recipe for Southwestern Avocado and Black Bean Salad. Mmmm.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

 

3 Responses to “get grateful on sunday: 9”

  1. Steph October 17, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

    I can see why you love writing these posts; there is a tone to them that attracts me to them.

    I like that comment on feeling close to your regular readers. I feel quite tender toward several people I’ve never met other than online, often more so than with my non-virtual friends!

    I know just how you feel about your vegetarianism. I went veg 8 years ago and I will never look back. It’s one of the few things that give me…peace.

    I am so excited about your new blog! I really look forward to your insight and what you have to say. I hope this doesn’t sound as though I’m pressuring you (it’s not my intention to but) I’m hoping, too, that it will motivate me to get back into doing yoga on a regular basis (because I love it!), that it will motivate me to slow down and calm myself and put more priority on being healthy. The irony of my job at the naturopathic clinic is that I’ve actually never been more unhealthy, in spite of all I now know. I think I may be rebelling in some way.

    Most people wouldn’t look at me that way, but in truth, I don’t exercise as much as I should, eat the way that makes me feel better, sleep enough, and my stress and anxiety levels are way too high. Knowing all this also makes me more stressed and sort of paralyzed.

    Whereas I find self-help sites even more stressful, I anticipate that your new blog, just from having a feel for your voice already, will be something I’ll respond positively to. I really look forward to reading about what drives you, as well, what you’re passionate about.

    • PrairieJournals October 18, 2010 at 6:28 pm #

      Wow, thanks Steph! I too go through phases where I’m not doing what I should to make myself feel at my best. I think the last few years, since my yoga teacher training, I’ve really gone out of my way to investigate how and why some people live such wonderful lives while others can’t get it together, and have tried to implement wellness practices into my everyday life. I just can’t get enough of researching that kind of thing, and it would be wonderful if others, like yourself, could benefit. It is encouraging to know that someone as well-read as you would be interested in reading it! Hopefully other people will too. Thanks!

  2. steph October 18, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    Oh, I’m totally interested. I’m one of those who can’t get it together. It’s starting to feel like ADD, which worries me. I’m always trying to take on too much and then I, being terrible at multi-tasking, can’t handle it all and find it overwhelming.

    I end up being totally inefficient and then beat myself up and also then can’t motivate myself. I need to look at one thing at a time, but one thing more right now is a lot. I’m hoping your blog will help me sort things out. Share all that research you’ve been doing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

