get grateful on sunday: 7

3 Oct

“Thank God every morning when you get up that you have something to do which must be done, whether you like it or not. Being forced to work, and forced to do your best, will breed in you temperance, self-control, diligence, strength of will, content, and a hundred other virtues which the idle never know.”
~ Charles Kingsley

I read the above quote at Simply Col‘s blog, and think about it each day when I’ve got something ahead of me that I would rather not do. I admire people who challenge themselves, and the quote is a good reminder that to have a life worth living you sometimes need to feel uncomfortable.


I’m grateful for so many things this week:

  • While I’m in Las Vegas next week I plan to see a Cirque Du Soleil show. I was told yesterday that a ticket has been purchased and paid for already as a gift, so now I get to see it for free.
  • I had my first not-related-to-work social visit this week in my new town. I was invited to hang out with some locals at their home; they were so lovely and welcoming, and I had a great time. I love having new friends!
  • For work I need to drive a large SUV, which in my Corolla-driving life equates to driving a tank. I had to reverse said vehicle out of a tight parking spot for the first time. I will be forever grateful to the woman in the parking lot whose (friendly) hand signals helped me avoid a collision with the vehicles behind me as I backed out. Little gestures go a long way.
  • How spectacular the weather has been this week! Yes, I always mention the weather, but at this time of year I have to. Beautiful blue skies, sunshine and light breezes. It’s as good as summer in my book.
  • I’m excited about all the new blogs I’ve come across in the last few days. The Canadian Book Challenge ’round up’ has provided me with many new links to check out and I’ve found some that I’ll continue reading. I’ve also found a multitude of new Canadian books to read in the future. I just wish I was a faster reader!
  • The generosity of people astounds me. I have been offered the loan of several books and DVDs this week, which are sitting in neat piles on my coffee table. Every loan means less money I need to spend, and I’m grateful for that.
  • A friend from Australia, whose son will shortly be in Canada for a working holiday, is coming to visit me next year. She will be my first Aussie visitor and I can’t wait to show her around.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

6 Responses to “get grateful on sunday: 7”

  1. steph October 3, 2010 at 4:40 pm #

    You sound happy, Bee, and I’m happy that so many wonderful things are happening to you!

    I hope you really enjoy LV and the show!

    • PrairieJournals October 4, 2010 at 7:31 am #

      Thanks, I am happy and very lucky too. Can’t wait to explore Vegas!

  2. Col October 3, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

    That quote is one of my favourites. I can’t remember where I first read it, but I do remember how it kind of shock me up and changed my way of looking at the alarm clock in the early morning. Gratitude, it seems, is an attitude. 🙂

    I too often feel that I over chat on and about the weather… but when one lives on the Canadian prairies, the wind, sun and snow are a big deal and influence much of our day.

    I so enjoy your gratitudes.

    • PrairieJournals October 4, 2010 at 7:37 am #

      Yes, it shook me up a bit too. It’s revolutionised the way I look at my days! Thanks for the quote, and thanks for reading my blog, Col. 🙂

  3. Em October 4, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    I like to see people looking at the bright side of things, so it’s nice to see someone emphasising why she should be grateful on her blog. I hope it makes people think and smile 🙂

    • PrairieJournals October 4, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

      Thanks Em. I like to remind myself of all the good things I have. We’re all so fortunate, but it’s easy to think too much about what we don’t have.

Leave a Reply

