Cockroach is running free

2 Oct

I mentioned a few days ago that I would be releasing Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat Pray Love as my first BookCrossing release when I’m in Las Vegas next week.

But this morning I went on a last-minute trip into Winnipeg, so I decided to set Rawi Hage’s Cockroach free into the urban wilderness while I was there. I left it on a bedside table in the furniture store ‘Bombay’. Hopefully some lucky browser finds the book and gives it a lovely new home!

4 Responses to “Cockroach is running free”

  1. steph October 2, 2010 at 11:46 pm #

    LOL! What a great place to put it! I wonder if people will think its part of the display and not touch it. Haha! Maybe a staff member, then, will get it.

    But what a very lovely and generous thing to do. Though I must be honest: my first thought was Shit! I want to read that book! I should have asked you to send it to me! 🙂

    • PrairieJournals October 3, 2010 at 8:55 am #

      I’m hoping that people who are not really readers just ignore the book, thinking it’s part of the display. But if someone like you or me sees it, I know they’ll pick it up regardless, just to take a look. Hopefully then they’ll notice the BookCrossing stickers inside telling them that the book is free to a good home. I also stuck my own fluorescent sticky-note inside telling them to take the book and check out BookCrossing. Am trying not to get my hopes up about hearing from the next owner, but it would be cool!

      Maybe you should check out BookCrossing in your area. Even small towns sometimes have members, and there are usually dedicated crossing zones so that you know where books are likely to be found. You might snag a few freebies for your shelves!

      • steph October 3, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

        That’s a good idea! And I have many I could release, too. The thought of someone coming across them is so cool!

      • PrairieJournals October 4, 2010 at 7:31 am #

        Absolutely. You should do it!

Leave a Reply

