get grateful on sunday: 6

26 Sep

“Happiness cannot be traveled to, owned, earned, worn or consumed. Happiness is the spiritual experience of living every minute with love, grace, and gratitude.”

– Denis Waitley

I’ve had such a busy but fulfilling week. Lots to be grateful for, as always.

  • At the forefront of my mind, as I look out the window at a beautiful blue sky and sunshine, is my gratitude for the improvement in Winnipeg’s weather over the past couple of days, from around 10-12 degrees last week to a forecast of around 22 degrees today. I am unabashedly expressing gratitude for this in the hope that more fine weather will come our way before winter sets in!
  • I received not one but three parcels from Australia this week! Inside were warm and useful things such as beanies (or ‘touques’ as I’m now calling them!) and scarves, and much-loved essentials such as Vegemite and Australian paw paw lotion.
  • There is a flyer in the foyer of my building announcing a condo barbecue to be held next weekend, weather permitting. As a new resident who hasn’t met any other of the other occupants, the lunch will be a great opportunity to introduce myself. I’m a bit nervous though, as I’m very shy when I don’t know people.
  • A major opportunity has presented itself this week in terms of future career prospects, which is why I have barely had time to look at my blog, or anyone else’s. If I work hard and stay focused, I may be on my way to a very fulfilling work life.
  • I’m tremendously grateful for an insight about my own behaviour this week. In recent years I have tried to implement changes in my own life through studying yoga and personal development, which has led to some real positive outcomes for me. But I’ve recently become aware that my expectations of myself and others are dragging me down: trying to do an hour of meditation, plus cardio exercise, plus yoga asanas each day, as well as having a money-saving regimen that leaves no room for nice things for myself, I was starting to look at each day as a bit, well, tiring. Since that realisation I’ve started cooking delicious dinners, eating Chinese take-out and just backing off a bit in terms of the exercise and meditation. There’s no point being super-healthy and wealthy if you’re not having any fun.

In the spirit of living a less regulated life, I’m only writing five gratitudes instead of ten and I’m going to enjoy the sun!

Have a great Sunday!

7 Responses to “get grateful on sunday: 6”

  1. steph September 26, 2010 at 10:04 pm #

    I’m finding that very thing; I need to relax and allow myself some fun! The problem is, I think I’m going overboard now and need to get back on track. Hopefully I can find a happy medium…

    I’m curious about your career change and look forward to more news!

    • PrairieJournals September 27, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

      Haha I think the empty family-sized chocolate wrapper next to me suggests I too may be going overboard in the opposite direction šŸ˜‰

  2. iliana September 27, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    Ah finding balance is such a delicate thing isn’t it? Glad you are finding more time for fun that you can incorporate with all the good that you do for your body/mind as well.

    In my yoga class today we also talked about finding happiness and how not every minute is going to be a happy one but still connecting with that bliss that is in our core even in those not so great moments. I was definitely trying to find bliss after we had done the millionth down dog! haha…

    • PrairieJournals September 27, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

      Thanks Iliana for stopping by. Yoga is so amazing for learning about yourself and your happiness. I’m so glad it’s part of my life! But yes, it’s so important to enjoy the other parts of life too.

  3. Col October 2, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    I too am so grateful for the return of warm sunny days. I too am hoping they stay around for awhile. Did you have a chance to see the Harvest moon last week. It had me feeling small.

    Happy to hear you have a tougue. A few other essentials for this transitional time of year for me are headbands (if my ears are warm, I am warm) and those little woolen gloves that you can pick up almost anywhere and only cost about 3 dollars. They look like little kids mitts, but aren’t. They are great for coolish mornings and fit nicely under the larger gloves and mitts once the colder weather arrives.

    • Col October 2, 2010 at 9:38 am #

      I meant touque not tougue.. yikies. šŸ™‚

    • PrairieJournals October 2, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

      Oh my goodness, no I didn’t see the Harvest moon but I heard that it was amazing. Next time.
      Thanks for the clothing tips, Col. The headbands are a great idea, I will keep an eye out for them next time I’m shopping. I actually bought a fabulous down coat today. It’s so great looking that I can’t wait to wear it! In the meantime, these beautiful fall days are really hitting the spot.

Leave a Reply

