get grateful on sunday: 5

19 Sep

“Nothing that is done for you is a matter of course. Everything originates in a will for the good, which is directed at you. Train yourself never to put off the word or action for the expression of gratitude.”

– Albert Schweitzer

Ten things I am expressing gratitude for this week:

  • I have been loaned a nice red bicycle, which will allow me to get out and see more of the surrounding area. A lovely thing about a small town versus a big city is that you can ride a bike in relative safety
  • I’ve been trying to save money recently, and what do you know, in the mail this week I received a refund from an LA hotel that overcharged me a couple of months ago
  • As much as I enjoy time by myself, I do miss my friends back home since I’ve moved overseas. This week though I met two lovely people in town who gave me their phone numbers so we can hang out. Yay, friends!
  • I love seasonal vegetables. They are so cheap and yet you can make so many healthy and delicious dishes from them
  • I’m grateful for the other people out there who are making interesting and unconventional choices in their lives, reminding me why I don’t want a house in the suburbs with kids and an SUV. That’s not a criticism of those who do want that; it’s just not for me
  • My first haircut in this new town turned out fine! I was also complemented on my beautiful hair instead of being sold something for dryness/oiliness/dullness
  • It has been lovely weather for walking, being crisp and cool at first, and then just right once I’ve warmed up a bit
  • I’m grateful for animals, for the dogs I see each day, the random kitties who cross my path and the big old cat who greets me as I enter my building
  • I love my Lavazza coffee, the thing that gets me out of bed every morning
  • It was nice to hear from people at home who remind me that I’m important to them and that my presence is missed while I’m so far away

I hope everyone enjoys the rest of their weekend 🙂

5 Responses to “get grateful on sunday: 5”

  1. steph September 20, 2010 at 10:01 pm #

    Sigh. How many times can I say how much I love reading these. Any time I feel down I’m going to come on here and read your Get Grateful on Sunday posts. They feel better, somehow, than reading or making my own! Your gratitude radiates. And you make me wish I lived close to you so we could hang out. I feel sure we’d be friends. We seem to value much of the same things.

    I appreciate you missing home. I know how that feels, only Canada is where I’ve lived all my life. But my family is so scattered, in Malta, England, etc.

  2. steph September 20, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

    PS. How did you like Cockroach? And The Outlander? I picked that one up today as well as Help Me, Jacques Cousteau, but my pile at work to buy is so big now it’s embarrassing so I put them back and they’re on my wishlist instead…

    • PrairieJournals September 21, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

      Thanks Steph. I liked Cockroach, and am formulating a review for The Outlander, which I also enjoyed. I’m certainly getting my fix of great Canadian literature at the moment.

  3. Col September 22, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    The best part of bicycling on the prairies is the flatness. 🙂 It truly is a great way to see and smell the land. I love my bike.
    I too love to read your gratitudes. They are lovely and a gentle reminder to reflect on my own.

    • PrairieJournals September 25, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

      Thanks Col! I agree with you about the flatness being a real positive when it comes to cycling. It makes riding a pleasure, rather than a groan-inducing workout. It looks like we have some great cycling weather coming up this week!

Leave a Reply

