Want to read…

18 Sep

Country Roads: Memoirs From Rural Canada (2010)

Edited by Pam Chamberlain

I grew up in a country town where rubberneckers reclined in the main street to stare at all who walked by, and the only bar in town was called ‘Ringers’ and had a decor involving hay bales. This town both scarred me and also made me who I am. Growing up in the country rarely leaves a person indifferent to their youth.


So I’m quite keen to readΒ Country Roads: Memoirs from Rural Canada, in which 32 Canadians share their stories of what it’s like to grow up far away from the city lights. Award-winning authors Sharon Butala and Rudy Wiebe are amongst those who share their experiences here.

8 Responses to “Want to read…”

  1. Claire (The Captive Reader) September 18, 2010 at 4:36 pm #

    Sounds intriguing and I love the cover!

  2. Melwyk September 18, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    This sounds great. I had seen the cover in a catalogue but only saw the chicken & the word ‘country’ and assumed it was a ‘raising chickens’ kind of guide for the newly rural πŸ˜‰ Now it sounds much more appealing.

    • PrairieJournals September 18, 2010 at 10:02 pm #

      Haha, that would be a far less appealing book! Not that I’ve got anything against raising chickens… πŸ˜‰

  3. steph September 18, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    I too love the cover, and I think it sounds excellent, rather like it belongs on my already-groaning shelves…

    I didn’t even know it existed. Funny how you’ve gone back to rural…haven’t you?

    • PrairieJournals September 18, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

      I have ended up back in the sticks, yes…after swearing that it would never happen! It was my job that brought me here, rather than it being a conscious decision. Trying to make a new life in this small town provides me with endless entertainment as I try to, sort of, not hate everything. πŸ™‚

  4. Col September 22, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    I grew up in the city and always dreamed of the country life. Funny how that is. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

