goals 2010/2011

15 Sep
My hand-written journal hardly ever gets a look-in these days! I’m transferring my goals for 2010/2011 from my journal to my blog so I can keep up with my progress here. I wrote the list before I moved to North America:
  • start a blog (hey, achieved!)
  • take a further course in meditation
  • learn to ice skate
  • visit Riding Mountain National Park
  • attend the Winnipeg Writer’s Festival
  • see the Grand Canyon
  • volunteer somewhere
  • join a book club
  • try snowshoeing
  • read a short-story collection by Alice Munro
  • do one big North American trip (maybe Florida or Churchill or Nova Scotia, to be decided)
  • learn to cook home-made perogies
  • see a moose in the wild
  • go canoeing/kayaking on one of the lakes
  • release books via BookCrossing

I’ll probably add to the list as I go. I’ve given myself until the end of 2011 to complete the goals due to the planning involved in the travel items, and also because, my cooking skills being what they are, it may take 15 months to learn to make perogies 😉

5 Responses to “goals 2010/2011”

  1. Claire (The Captive Reader) September 15, 2010 at 9:08 pm #

    What a great list! Churchill would be an amazing trip. I have really fond memories of going snowshoeing when I was young (many, many Brownies and Guides day trips) but haven’t been in years – same for skating. And you’re definitely in the right place to learn how to make perogies!

    • PrairieJournals September 15, 2010 at 10:51 pm #

      Thanks Claire. I’m trying to embrace all that a Canadian winter has to offer!

  2. Col September 16, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    This is a great list and I love that you have been introduced to perogies. I have never really mastered the art of making them but luckily for me, I have a daughter-in-law who is a pro. Perogies are a favourite in this house. 🙂

    One of my goals this winter is to try snowshoeing as well. Apparently the shoes that they make now a days are much more compact and easier to use than what they once were. Sadie loves to bound through the snow in the field out back. I figure, she can bound and I can snowshoe. 🙂

    • PrairieJournals September 16, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

      I’ve seen pictures of the older-style snowshoes…I’m glad they have updated them!! It’s hard for me to imagine all the fields here covered in snow, but I know in a short time that will be the norm. I’m looking forward to the snow, as I haven’t seen it for three and a half years. I’m just not looking forward to anything below minus 15 😉
      Perogies…how did I live without them for so long?

  3. Melwyk September 18, 2010 at 8:23 pm #

    All I can say is don’t start a full batch of perogies when you are by yourself and intend having them for dinner. Aargh. Much easier and more fun when you make them in a group. (or buy them from the Ukrainian church ladies…)

Leave a Reply

