get grateful on sunday: 4

12 Sep
Silent gratitude isn’t much use to anyone.’
– Gladys Brown Stern
This week, lots of little things to be grateful for:
  • I got an unexpected day off work yesterday! There’s nothing as sweet as thinking that you’re off to work on a Saturday, and then being told that you don’t need to work after all. I spent the day instead browsing at Chapters and eating out with friends
  • I had a revelation this week: ‘just be yourself’. I’m at what you’d call a crossroads in my life, being new here in Canada. No one knows me, and I could try to be anything. I think that finally, at 34, I’m just going to be who I am, like when I was a kid and I didn’t know there were other ways of being. Instead of always trying to find an angle that’s going to get me the most friends or the most people saying ‘Well, isn’t she nice,’ I’m just going to be me

  • Pumpkin spice lattes at Starbucks – yum! I generally think Starbucks is rubbish since I previously lived in a city that likes its coffee strong and Italian…pretty much solid. But I have a weakness for seasonal Starbucks offerings. Shhh
  • all the good things happening in the lives of my friends at home right now: imminent babies, house sits beside beaches, potential PhD scholarships. It’s always good to hear about the good fortune of others
  • my new warm clothes that are perfect for the slight chill of the fall days and nights. I arrived in Canada with only one light sweater, and we all knew that wasn’t going to get me very far
  • I am soon to be the owner of a car, which will enable me to see more of my adopted province plus make my life a whole lot easier when the weather gets colder
  • good writing: I am thoroughly hooked on Gil Adamson’s The Outlander! I could barely drag myself away from it to write this post
  • the free supply of contact lenses I received last week. Always grateful to keep my money in my pocket, especially when it comes to essentials like that
  • after spending half a day yesterday with a woman who is wheelchair-bound due to obesity and diabetes, I am grateful for my extremely good health, and the physical ability to do anything I want to do
  • the knowledge that no matter how things seem, there are endless opportunities in the world for learning, for good times, for fulfilment. I’m grateful for both the opportunities and for the awareness of their existence

Have a great Sunday!

6 Responses to “get grateful on sunday: 4”

  1. Literary Feline September 12, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

    An unexpected day off work is definitely worth being grateful for! Right now I’m grateful for any day of overtime I can get. LOL

    Ooo! A new car! I hope you will enjoy it. Having a car opens so many new doors for a person.

    I’ve been wanting to read The Outlander. I am glad you are enjoying the book so far.

    I like what you said about being yourself. I think it is good advice.

    Have a great week!

  2. steph September 12, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    I don’t know how many times I can tell you I love these gratitude posts. I feel as though I’m becoming your friend just reading them, and your points also make me feel good and remember my own things. Like being able to buy new books (Uh oh, now I have to check out The Outlander!), having our own home, etc. I used to keep a notebook I wrote my points in every night. I think I stopped because I was repeating myself a lot, but I guess there’s no harm in that!

    I think it’s amazing how just reading about you feeling happy and grateful can lift my own mood.

    • PrairieJournals September 13, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

      Thanks! I’m glad it helps you to remember things to be grateful for…I feel like mine are totally repetitive each week! But in a way that’s a good reminder to me that life doesn’t have to be all bells and whistles in order to feel happy and grateful

      • steph September 13, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

        So true. I really have to remind myself of that. I’m the type to constantly need something new and exciting. I’m really struggling with but am learning about trying to live in the moment where I am, when I’d always rather be elsewhere doing something else.

  3. Col September 16, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    Your gratitudes leave me feeling grateful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

