get grateful on sundays: 3

5 Sep

‘When you form the habit of searching for the positive in every circumstance, your life will move into its highest dimensions. This is one of the greatest of all the natural laws.’

– From The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari by Robin Sharma

This week, I have many things to be grateful for:
  • a beautiful trip to Assiniboine Park yesterday. Beautiful blue skies, no wind, and the perfect temperature to view the incredible flowers at the English Garden (where the pictures were taken) as well as the wildlife at the Zoo
  • my sister in Melbourne calls me on skype twice a week, and no matter how boring our conversations get I love catching up with her. Our last conversation was about her new kettle 🙂

  • I have just been given a travel guide to Las Vegas and have an all-expenses-paid 10 day trip coming up in September
  • the local library had four books actually on the shelves that I wanted for the Canadian Book Challenge
  • I met and chatted with several gorgeous elementary-aged children this week. There is little on earth that I love more than talking to fantastic kids and soaking up their attitude to life (I worked as a 5th grade teacher for several years)

  • my renewed commitment to my yoga practice is helping me live each day with a steady energy that helps me to live in the moment
  • my boss has a cup of coffee waiting for me when I arrive at work each morning! How many people get to say that? Only a lucky few, I’d say
  • hooray for the long weekend! An extra day of relaxation and fun
  • this past wet week I have been grateful to have a clothes dryer – the first one I’ve ever had!
  • I have all that I need
4 Responses to “get grateful on sundays: 3”

  1. Col September 5, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    I so enjoy your gratitudes and can relate to many of them. Assiniboine Park is a fabulous place no matter what the season. Love it there!

    And Skype.. my sister is in Victoria, B.C. She is not much into computers and I practically had to force Skype upon her.. but now she LOVES it and we use it a couple of times a week. Having a sister is truly the best. 🙂

    A ten day trip to Las Vegas.. all I can say is WOW! 🙂

    • PrairieJournals September 5, 2010 at 11:52 am #

      Yes I was really blown away by Assiniboine Park, though I need to go back and spend a whole day there as it’s so big! What a wonderful oasis, and the English Gardens were just mind-blowingly beautiful.
      Skype is just the best, and for free! What a great invention

  2. steph September 5, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    These posts really endear me to you. I have to admit they make me really wish we lived closer. I’d be grateful for a friend like you, to do yoga and drink tea and discuss books with. 🙂

    PS. My sister and I do Skype every weekend if we can. She’s in Yorkshire. My parents are in Malta, so we Skype too. Makes weekends all the more enjoyable.

    • PrairieJournals September 5, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

      Thanks, what a kind thing to say! I’m sure that we will meet; one of my best friends lives in Shawville, Quebec, which is just a few hours from you. I stayed with her for two months in 2006 and we are always talking about meeting up again, and when we do I am sure I will be visiting Greenley’s, or, who knows, maybe even Biblio 🙂
      What a bunch of travellers your family must be! How fantastic! As Hans Christian Andersen said, “To travel is to live”

Leave a Reply

