Weekly Geeks

29 Aug

At Weekly Geeks this week they ask these questions:Who do you read with? If you don’t read with anyone, why not?

These questions got me thinking SO much. Whenever I hear people talking about their partners, my ears always prick up when I hear the words “My husband (or wife) is reading this great book…” because I think, wow, that is a couple who must never run out of things to talk about.

Me, I’ve just always read. I was the girl in high school carrying around the massive Stephen King books and reading them in class because she was so bored.Β The only problem with reading all the time is that it can be so socially isolating if you don’t have the ‘right type’ of friends. At high school, I barely knew anyone else who read, and I often felt isolated in that a very important part of my life was not understood by my friends.

By the time I reached university I made more of the ‘right type’ of friends. To me, these are the ones who actually ask you, “What have you read lately?” when you’re catching up. They don’t need an explanation for why you don’t want to go clubbing with them every weekend because they know standing around with a drink in your hand can’t compare to the things going on between the covers of your latest book. These friends understand that spending a Saturday night at the local bookstore is a valid social activity. Β πŸ™‚

I’m lucky enough to have had a few of these ‘right type’ of friends, and these friendships are amongst my most enduring: my friend V, who studied literature at university (lucky!) while I slogged away at a far less satisfying major; T, who reads everything but often books with a spiritual element; A, who I once worked for and who ploughs through books so much quicker than me that she always has recommendations; J and J, who, whilst they are dedicated party animals, manage to read significant literature during their downtime.

While I don’t actually read ‘with’ any of these friends in terms of sharing a reading space, they are never far away for discussion and recommendations of good reading titles. And now that I’ve entered the blogging world, there are many others who have read/want to read the same books as me. Hopefully lots of discussion will ensue.

And I’m still hoping that maybe in the future I’ll be able to say, “My husband is reading this great book…”

13 Responses to “Weekly Geeks”

  1. Col August 29, 2010 at 8:05 pm #

    I love to read and am rarely without a book or two on the go. The funny thing is… my husband does not. Thank goodness for friends who love to read as much as me. πŸ™‚

  2. Melanie August 30, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    While my best friend, D, doesn’t read much, we met because i did. We both started as freshmen at a rural high school in TN at the same time. We both came to the school from other places and didn’t know anyone. She came up to me at lunch and sat down and started talking to me. Much later, she explained she saw me sitting there, by myself, reading a big book like i didn’t care what anyone else thought, and decided i must be interesting. we are still friends 20 years later!

    • PrairieJournals August 30, 2010 at 11:02 pm #

      Thanks for your comment! I love stories like this, where people meet because of reading. A friend of mine met her husband when he approached her at a Barnes and Noble Starbucks because she looked cool reading her book.

  3. 1girl2manybooks August 30, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    Thankfully, my fiance loves to read and has several hundred books! He does read much slower than I do though, so sometimes it’s a long time before we can both discuss a book! None of my friends have ever been avid readers and now if I’m talking to someone about a book, it’ll be someone I’ve met through blogging online.

    • PrairieJournals August 30, 2010 at 10:57 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by! A slow reader is better than no reader at all, eh? Thank goodness for the blogging world. It amazes me how many book lovers are out there!

  4. steph August 30, 2010 at 10:32 pm #

    I do have a few booklover friends with similar tastes, and have met even more online, but my hubs doesn’t read much fiction. In an effort to rectify this and my disappointment after he didn’t read much more than The Lord of the Rings at my suggestion, I started our lovely tradition of reading aloud to him. We’ve read His Dark Materials trilogy, The Historian, The Halloween Tree, The Inheritance series, The Hobbit, and even the Twilight series. I’m so grateful he lets me read aloud to him; it’s special to me.

    • PrairieJournals August 30, 2010 at 10:55 pm #

      That’s so cute it brought tears to my eyes. Maybe we should ban televisions and everyone could read to each other. I think I should’ve grown up in Victorian times

      • steph August 31, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

        πŸ™‚ It helps! We haven’t had TV for about 6 years now. We do watch movies but just don’t subscribe to TV.

  5. Literary Feline August 31, 2010 at 12:00 am #

    My husband and I were first drawn to each other because of our love of reading and writing. I feel very lucky in that way. We don’t always read the same types of books, but that’s okay. It keeps things interesting. πŸ™‚

  6. Jordyn September 1, 2010 at 2:10 am #

    (Coming over from the Weekly Geeks website… I also answered this question.)

    AHHH I love your answer. I was also always that “weird girl” in school who was always reading. And though I know many more people who read now and even have a few good friends who are bookworms, we never actually read TOGETHER. Mostly because we live in different states. πŸ˜‰

    • PrairieJournals September 1, 2010 at 7:39 am #

      Jordyn I tried to leave a comment on your blog but it wouldn’t let me 😦 I love what you wrote in your post about big spaces allowing you to think the thoughts that need to be thought. I could totally relate to that. I’ve been in a semi-rural area for just the past 5 weeks after living in a big city for 15 years and I feel more like myself now than I have in years. I think the open spaces allow you to remember who you really are without all the busy-ness and distractions of city living

  7. gautami tripathy September 2, 2010 at 12:20 am #

    In school, I had a huge circle of reader friends. We loved reading together and sharing. OUr school library was one of the best. It still is.

    Here is my Weekly Geeks post!

Leave a Reply

