get grateful on sunday: 2

29 Aug
Here are ten things that I’m grateful for today:
  1. some people have actually looked at my blog! This is not something that I necessarily expected so early on, so thank you!
  2. for the existence of the blogging community, and the amount of information and different ideas emanating from this community, with such energy
  3. my life is just so calm at the moment. I wake up well-rested, go for a morning walk or do yoga, go to work and enjoy my day, come home and cook good food and then settle in to read and/or blog. Or watch Mad Men ๐Ÿ™‚ This life may have sounded quite boring to the old me, but after a few very busy years it is just what the doctor ordered
  4. my workdays continue to be enjoyable and fulfilling. Some of the things I got paid to do this past week included buying candy for party bags, paddling in an outdoor pool on a hot day and a couple of visits to the local library (woo!)
  5. some semi-rude behaviour on my part was overlooked by the person on the receiving end. That situation could have turned out badly for both of us, and I’m grateful the other person had the grace to let it go
  6. I am being incorporated into the social activities of my new town. Today’s activity: 3-year-old birthday party. Let the candy-eating begin
  7. the kindness of random strangers. Being fairly new in the area (almost five weeks now!) and not having my usual social network around me, random conversations take on an importance that they wouldn’t usually have. It’s a good reminder to me that you never know what’s going on in a person’s life but you can always bring a bit of sunshine to it
  8. I’m not too afraid to try new things. I say ‘too afraid’ because I often feel some fear, but I do the things anyway
  9. I had an insight just this week into a situation that occurred three years ago and caused a lot of pain at the time, and for a very long time after. Sometimes it takes a LONG time to work out what the lesson was from a situation; apparently this took three whole years for me but now, I get it!
  10. I have lots of healthy (and not-so-healthy!) food to eat. I’m reading a novel where the main character is hungry and has no money, and there have been times in my life where I was in that situation (university anyone?). That’s the worst kind of worry, and I’m grateful I don’t have that worry now

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

2 Responses to “get grateful on sunday: 2”

  1. Col August 29, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

    What wonderful gratitudes.

    And about the ‘feeling some fear’ thing (which I harbour as well).. being afraid and doing it anyway is the real definition of courage in my book. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. PrairieJournals August 30, 2010 at 7:12 am #

    Thank you. It took me so long to understand that fear does not necessarily mean you shouldn’t do something. I think everyone feels it from time to time, but the brave forge ahead ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

