canadian book challenge 4: reading list

28 Aug

canadian book challenge 4 Today is a wet wet wet Manitoba day. A perfect day for just sitting around and reading, and thinking about books.

I’ve decided on my reading list for the 4th Canadian Book Challenge. Although there’s no set requirement, I decided to go with John Mutford‘s suggestion to read one book set in each Canadian province and territory. This should help me learn a bit more about life in different parts of Canada, and also help me to kick my habit of choosing books mainly set in Montreal (it just seems to happen that way!).

This is my reading list:

Yukon: The Tent Peg by Aritha van Herk

Saskatchewan: Who Has Seen the Wind by W.O. Mitchell

Quebec: Cockroach by Rawi Hage

PEI: Ann of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

Ontario: Fauna by Alissa York

Nunavut: Rankin Inlet by Mara Feeney

Nova Scotia: The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill

Northwest Territories: Tatsea by Armin Wiebe

Newfoundland/Labrador: Annabel by Kathleen Winter

New Brunswick: Nights Below Station Street by David Adams Richards

Manitoba: A Jest of God by Margaret Laurence

B.C: Hey Nostradamus by Douglas Coupland

Alberta: The Outlander by Gil Adamson

I hope I’ve got the correct setting for each book. If not, I’ll soon find out when I read them!

I’m so excited to read each and every one of these books.

5 Responses to “canadian book challenge 4: reading list”

  1. Col August 29, 2010 at 2:25 am #

    Looks like a great list… I just may borrow from it.
    “The Book of Negroes” by Lawrence Hill is excellent! I read it last year.

    • PrairieJournals August 29, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

      There is so much great Canadian fiction that it was difficult to choose titles! The Book of Negroes is one I’m very excited to read so I’m glad to hear good feedback about it 🙂

  2. steph August 30, 2010 at 10:28 pm #

    Great choices! I have York’s and Hill’s books on my to-read pile still…

    I can’t help it: I have to comment on your spelling of Ann of Green Gables. It’s just that in the book Anne insists it’s “Anne with an ‘e’.” 🙂

    • PrairieJournals August 30, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

      Oh gosh and I knew that too. It’s sitting here in front of me on the coffee table. How embarrassing! 🙂

  3. steph August 31, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    Meh! We all make mistakes. You should see mine. I’ve lamented a dead author, only to have someone come on my blog and tell me she’s not yet dead! Sheesh!

Leave a Reply

