old town, new town

27 Aug

My old town:

My new town:

And yet I love them both.

8 Responses to “old town, new town”

  1. Col August 27, 2010 at 1:10 pm #

    Such a huge move.. from Australia to our Canadian prairies. I am very impressed with your adventuresome spirit. 🙂

    And I am thrilled to have found your blog. I know I will be back to visit often.

  2. theliterarylollipop August 28, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    Wow what a difference in landscape!

    • PrairieJournals August 28, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

      thanks for stopping by. yeah, totally different, but a good opportunity to see some different things 🙂

  3. steph August 30, 2010 at 10:34 pm #

    That sequence made me laugh aloud! I can’t wait to live in a rural area, but this small town drives me nuts. Make any sense? I guess I just want to live in the country but have access to a city I love. Ideally, I’d live in North Yorkshire, and I’d visit York. Siiiigh.

    • PrairieJournals August 30, 2010 at 10:53 pm #

      I’ve been wanting to live in a rural area for a while too, but I’m not sure this town was exactly what I had in mind! It has its advantages, like riding a bike without thundering traffic around you, plus it’s safe and pretty. Thankfully it’s just a short trip to the city, though. I’m a city girl through and through.

  4. Em October 4, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

    Big change I imagine!
    You might get to love rural life, who knows?
    I live in a village (by choice) and I love blustery winter nights reading by the fire… It was never the same in the city.

    • PrairieJournals October 4, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

      I actually do love it, almost in spite of myself. It has given me more time to think, read, blog and get to know others around me. Melbourne was so busy all the time that it felt like I was just racing from one distraction to another and didn’t have much time for things that are really important to me.
      Thanks for stopping by Em. Sitting by the fire on a cold night in Ireland sounds pretty awesome!

Leave a Reply

