new challenges

23 Aug

I’ve had a busy day scouring book blogs and sites, with the intention of finding a couple of good book challenges to join. I didn’t want anything too intense in terms of numbers, as I really don’t like reading under pressure. It takes the enjoyment away for me.

I found two that really fit with my reading goals at the moment.

2010 Global Reading Challenge

The first is the 2010 Global Reading Challenge, which allows participants to read novels by authors the world over. I signed up for the Easy Challenge, since it is already the end of August and the challenge finishes at the end of the year. The Easy Challenge requires one novel to be read and reviewed from Africa, Asia, Australasia, Europe, North America (including Central America) and South America, allowing you to read your way around the world. There are so many amazing books out there from international authors that it’s gonna be hard to decide which books to read.

Challenge number two is a fitting one, in that I’m a fairly new resident of Canada. I am excited to have signed up for the 4th Canadian Book Challenge. I’ve read quite a bit of Canadian fiction already and can’t wait to read more. Some definite title on my reading list are

  • February by Lisa Moorecanadian book challenge 4
  • Cockroach by Rawi Hage
  • The Flying Troutmans by Miriam Toews

I’m off to McNally Robinson tomorrow to pick up a few titles!

I also signed up over at LibraryThing today, and spent most of the afternoon looking at their groups, and adding titles to my library!

4 Responses to “new challenges”

  1. John Mutford August 23, 2010 at 5:09 am #

    I’ve yet to read any Hage, but I’d definitely start with Cockroach. I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts.

    • PrairieJournals August 23, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

      Thanks for that John. I’m off the bookstore today so I’m not anticipating much sleep tonight!

  2. steph August 24, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    I’m so excited about all your wonderful choices! I started the Lacuna last night and also February…

    I actually keep forgetting I’m supposed to be doing this Can. challenge as well. I’m just reading willy nilly, all overwhelmed by my choices. I did just finish Mark Sinnett’s The Carnivore, which was excellent, and Canadian!

  3. PrairieJournals August 24, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

    Cool, I should add The Carnivore to my list as well! Thanks for the recommendation 🙂

Leave a Reply

