get grateful on sunday: 1

22 Aug

I’m a big believer in the notion that ‘you are what you think’. Your thoughts really do set the tone of your life. This is not some new-age mumbo jumbo that arrived with the publishing of The Secret; it is an idea that has been around for thousands of years and practiced by learned people from many cultures. In celebration of that, and in keeping with my aim to maintain a calm and healthy mind, each Sunday I will be publishing a list of ten things from my life that I am sincerely grateful for. Here goes.

I am grateful that:

  1. I have my own living space. For the past 3 weeks I have lived alone, and love every minute of it. The first thing I think of when I wake up is how lucky I am to have such peace and privacy in my home.
  2. The people I work for are going out of their way to make sure I’m happy here in Canada and that my needs are being met. I don’t expect this of them as it’s up to me to make sure my needs are met, but I appreciate their efforts so much.
  3. I have a three day weekend this weekend, a weekend filled with quiet time as well as fun activities!
  4. I get to spend each workday surrounded by a lovely 2-year-old girl and two crazy, loving dogs that make each day full of fun.
  5. McNally Robinson Booksellers are situated nearby in Winnipeg. Yay!
  6. I have been sleeping so well the past week after several weeks of broken sleep. Happy to be well-rested again.
  7. My family and friends at home keep in touch with me through email and skype while I am away.
  8. I have found inspiration in the form of a former colleague who has followed a dream, put in the hard yakka and is now a success in her chosen (and quite difficult) field.
  9. Several items on my ‘to buy’ list were purchased for me by someone else yesterday, allowing many dollars to remain in my wallet.
  10. We currently have this beautiful, beautiful weather. Sunny days, blue skies, temperatures in the high 20s, gentle breezes. Never mind what happens after you die, this is heaven here right now. Get into it.
6 Responses to “get grateful on sunday: 1”

  1. Wendy August 23, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂 I love this post. A number of years ago I read that we should keep a gratitude journal…I actually did that for about 6 months when I was going through a tough time. Every day I journaled about three things I was grateful for…they were little things (the sound of the rain on the roof, a hug from a friend’s child, seeing a deer bound into the woods)…and it made me realize that the things that make us most happy are the small things.

    • PrairieJournals August 24, 2010 at 2:53 am #

      Thanks for stopping by Wendy. I think you are totally right, that even in the most mundane day there are so many things to be grateful for. It’s a much healthier way to live than just waiting for the ‘big events’ in life, which are often a bit of an anti-climax anyway. Cheers!

  2. reviewsbylola August 23, 2010 at 10:28 pm #

    Great sleep and having privacy are both really important and make a huge difference!

    • PrairieJournals August 24, 2010 at 2:49 am #

      I can’t believe the difference they make! Such simple things, but so necessary

  3. steph August 24, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    What an absolutely beautiful post. I felt as grateful reading it as though they were my own things! They’re wonderful.

    • PrairieJournals August 24, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

      Thanks Steph, it helps me to focus on what’s important in life and what’s going right, rather than what’s not so right. We are all so fortunate but I think we forget that sometimes!

Leave a Reply

